Smashbox Double Exposure review + tutorial

Hey guys!

Hope you are all well, today I am finally getting round to posting my review of the Smashbox Double Exposure palette. Now I’ve had this palette for a good four months now so have had enough time to get a good feel for the product (just a disclaimer going in here, I am not a makeup expert and don’t claim to be I just love it and these are all my own opinions of this product). So first let’s talk about the palette in a bit more detail; you get 14 shadows three are matte, four are satin and then seven are shimmer. So if you don’t like a bit of shimmer on your eyes I’ll say this now this isn’t the palette for you.

Along the top row from left to right is: Silver, Mauve, Peony, Blanc, Quartz, Flushed and Veiled. Along the bottom row from left to right is: Midnight, Temper, Haze, Noir, Copper, Fig and Expresso. I love the names for all of the shadows, although I do feel that ‘Blanc’ is more silver looking than white and ‘Silver’ is quite purple toned. All of the shadows have been very finely milled. When using the shimmers I never feel like there are big bits of glitter in them. Below I will show swatches on my arms of the top and then bottom rows. I would say that all of the darker shadows on the bottom row are warm toned so will be great as we head into autumn and winter.

Use

use2 use3

I love how versatile the palette is! You can create so many different looks both for day and night. I would say the top row are more suitable for day wear as they are the lighter colours but are also shimmers so unless you really build them up they will be subtle. This is touching on the only real fault I can find with the palette is that I feel the shimmers on the top row aren’t as pigmented as I would want them to be this may be just because they are that shimmer finish but I do wish perhaps Peony or Flushed were matte shades.

When it comes to a night-time makeup or creating a smoky eye the bottom row of this palette is amazing for that. With its deep browns and purples. I have to say I haven’t tried out the blue shade named Midnight yet as it’s a bit too out there for me. But the Matte black is great for creating a powder eyeliner if you feel that a gel or pen eyeliner will look to harsh (I personally love a bit of gel eyeliner).

I find that with any powder eyeshadows on me I have to use a primer, and this palette sadly is no exception. So I will use a primer like Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion in original or Benefit’s Stay Don’t Stray on my eyes before applying the shadows. I found that this is needed especially with the shimmers otherwise they can crease so easily on your eyes. However with primer in place the wear time on the shadow is great, you can have them on in the day at work/uni but also all night if you are partying away. Also fall down is a lot less than that of the shadows in the Naked3 palette I have found.

Okay so now I am going to show you one of my favourite makeup looks to create with the Double Exposure palette. First I applied my Maybelline New York FIT Me! foundation in 115-Ivory using a Real Techniques expert face brush. I then brushed through my eyebrows with Maybelline New York Brow Drama in dark brown to give them some more definition and keep them in place. I also find that by using a brow mascara first it stops me from over filling in my brows. I’m sure we’ve all been there right?

use4

Next I moved onto the eyes, I primed them with Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion in original as I mentioned earlier. I then took the shade Peony all over my lid using a Real Techniques base shadow brush from the Nic’s Picks collection. Then in the centre and outer third of my eyes I took Flushed and blended these together.

use5

Then comes the scary bit, on a Real Techniques Bold Metals 201 brush I picked up the colours Fig and Copper and blended these into the crease of my eyelids and formed a shape like this < in the outer corner of my eyes with the two darker shades. This takes a lot of time to build up the colour and then blend it away again I used a Real Techniques angled shadow brush from the Nic’s Picks collection again to do this. Eventually you will end up with something that looks like this. I also added Expresso under my lower lash line. For this I used the brush that came with the palette, I’m not a massive fan of the double ended brush but the angled end is the perfect size and shape for adding eyeliner to the lower lash line.

use6

Then to finish off the eyes I used Rimmel London gel eyeliner in black for my winged eyeliner, to do this I used the Real Techniques Silicone liner brush. For Mascara I used a combination of Benefit’s they’re real mascara and Maybelline New York Lash Sensational. I quickly touched on the they’re real mascara in my Sephora haul post but oh my god this is an amazing mascara I used it every day that I have worn makeup since I got the Benefit set it came in and I am sad that it has all been used up hence why I also used the lash sensational mascara to give my lashes the full effect I wanted. Would I buy the full size ‘they’re Real’? Probably not I feel the price tag is too high for something you will use up fairly quickly, but if you have that kind of money to spend it’s a very good mascara.

Anyway I got a bit side tracked there make to the makeup. Now that my eyes were done I finished off my brows by filling them in with a eyeshadow I got from Makeup Revolution for something ridiculously cheap like £1 I use the shade ‘Delicious’ it’s also great for contouring with as its very cool toned. For concealer over any blemishes I had I used the Collection lasting perfection concealer in 1 Fair, I also used this under my eyes with the Maybelline New York Eraser eye concealer in Nude. I used my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion sponge to blend it all out.

Then to contour and powder I used a new set from Seventeen, this was my first time using the setting powder and contour duo and I was quite impressed. The setting powder is just pretty standard (used Real Techniques duo-fiber brush, from Nic’s Picks), I did like the contour/bronzer side as it’s not too cool toned or red toned for this I used a Real Techniques Bold Metals 300 brush. It didn’t really pick up in the photos but in real life it’s really pigmented. So far a thumbs up from me, I am trying this new alternative as my beloved Soap and Glory solar powder touched pan last week. For highlight I used Girl Meets Perl by Benefit (from same ‘primping with the stars’ kit as they’re Real mascara).

Finally onto lips I used Mac’s Soar lip liner and Rimmel London’s lipstick in Asia. I feel like this can be a day or a night look depending on what lip option you go for. I would wear this particular look in the day but if you feel the lip is too dark go for something more neutral like Revlon’s Pink In The Afternoon or Mac’s Patisserie. The end result of it all looking like this:

use7 use8 use9 use10

use14

Here are photos of the products I used on my eyes and then the rest of my face:use12use13

Wow that was a long post, well done if you got all the way to the end, I have a tendency to ramble on… Hope you like the review and found it useful if you are considering buying the palette.I picked mine up from here.

Rosie

xxx

Leave a Reply

