Why you should be part of a general election!

Hey guys!

So as you might have guessed by the title this isn’t a normal kind of post for me. But it is something that I feel very passionate about. Yesterday in the UK we had a general election to possibly appoint a new prime minister. In the end that did not happen and the conservative’s reached a majority unlike last time. So no coalition was formed and David Cameron is still our prime minister and will be for the next five years.

I really want to talk to you all about why you should vote or at least get involved in the process of it. For me it was the first time that I was able to vote but I was so excited at the thought that I could finally have my voice heard by voting for a party I believed in. One reason I believe people will vote is, if you don’t even contribute to what you want the next government to look like how can you moan when things go wrong. For example a lot of people moan about how the NHS has been in decline since the conservatives came into power, but if you don’t vote against them or vote for any changes then I don’t think that you have the right to speak against it. By all means everyone is entitled to their own opinion I think that they should just back it up by voting or even spoiling your ballot paper if you feel that none of the political parties are reaching out to you. By spoiling your ballot paper you still got involved in the process and said how you feel about the politics of Briton.

Secondly, as a woman less than a 100 years ago I would not have been able to vote in a general election just because of my gender. Emmeline Pankhurst and the other suffragettes devoted their lives to women being able to have their say on how the country should be run. I think that now we have this right we should use it and do all the women before us justice and at least attempt to try and shape the changing world around us! Just think in countries like Saudi Arabia women still don’t have the right to vote.

7d9df76f4677a819c8bb1c56b772fc03.jpg

It may be that your constancy seat isn’t marginal (it could change and not the same party is elected every time) and the part that you vote for isn’t elected ( that happened to me) you still should vote for no one else than yourself. You should choose a party because you believe in them and their polices not because your friend told you that their voting for them too. Heres a picture of me outside my local polling station yesterday.

IMG_2588

My jacket is Missguided, my dress H&M and my shoes are Topshop if you are wondering.

I hope you liked this different type of post from me its something I am very passionate about it.

Rosie

xxx

Leave a Reply

